Advanced reuse options

  Work in Jama > Work in projects > Reuse and synchronization > Reuse > Reuse options >

Advanced reuse options

Previous pageNext page Print this topic! Mail us feedback on this topic!

When reusing items, there will occasionally be items that need specific rules applied to that item type and related items. To make or use a reuse rule, select the Advanced button in the Reuse window. This will open the Advanced panel, displaying any applicable reuse rules. Applicable reuse rules will be by item type. To see all rules, uncheck the Only show applicable box.

 

ReuseAdvanced

 

To create, edit or delete a reuse rule, you must have Reuse Administrator permissions.

 

Add/Edit rule

To add a new reuse rule, select Add rule. To edit an existing rule, select Edit next to that rule. The Reuse rule window will open:

ReuseAddRuleScreen

 

Enter the name and description of the rule, and then select ReuseAddItemTypeRuleBtn button. This will open a section guiding you through the rule creation process:

ReuseRuleCreation

Select an item type from the dropdown and select the ReuseAddRelatedButton button to define how to handle up- and downstream items related to this item type. You can add different rules for each item type, and each rule can go 16 levels deep:

ReuseAdvancedRules

Select the ReuseDeleteBtn button to delete any level or rule.

 

Reuse Options

Sync item(s) and share Global ID - Checking this box gives the source item and the destination item the same Global ID. Once they have the same Global ID, any changes in one item will flag the relationship between them as out of sync. See Synchronization for more information.
Append a prefix to the names of the copied items - If your item is only being reused but not synchronized, you have the ability to append a prefix to the new item in order to differentiate between two copies of the same items.
Add a relationship from the original item - Checking this box will create a relationship between the original item and the new item.

 

Fields to copy

After you have created your rules above, you have the option to configure each item type to limit the fields and widgets to be copied. In the Fields to Copy section of the Reuse rule window, select the ReuseConfigureBtn button next to the item type you wish to configure.

 

ReuseAdvancedFieldsToCopy

This will open the Field Options Screen:

ReuseFieldOptions

The fields tab allows you to define whether you want all fields copied or specific fields copied.
Note: Release fields cannot be reused and synced between projects since they are unique to each project.

The Widgets tab allows you to define whether you copy tags, attachments and/or links. Once you have configured your item type, select Done to save your changes and close the window.

After all sections of the Add Reuse window have been completed, select Save to save the rule and close the window.