Reuse options

  Work in Jama > Work in projects > Reuse and synchronization > Reuse >

Reuse options

Previous pageNext page Print this topic! Mail us feedback on this topic!

This section gives a detailed explanation of the Reuse Options section of the Reuse item(s) window that appears when you select an item for reuse.

Please visit Reuse for an overview on reusing items.  The Reuse Options section of the Reuse item(s) window lets you tell Jama whether you want to synchronize the source and destination items or just reuse the source items. In addition, you must indicate whether you want to also reuse the source item’s relationships, tags, attachment and links.

reuse_options

Most reuse functionality can be accomplished using the options shown with the Basic button. Select the Advanced options button for Advanced Reuse Options if you have a specific reuse rule you'd like to use or want to further customize the way reuse is accomplished.

The Basic reuse options are:

The Sync item(s) and share Global ID option is selected by default. Please deselect this option when only duplicating. Checking this box gives the source item and the destination item the same Global ID. Once they have the same Global ID, any synced field changes in one item will be flagged and the items will be marked as out of sync. You can easily view any out of sync items by using Compare View. Please see Reuse and Synchronization for more on synchronization options.
Append a prefix adds a prefix to the name of the item. Example: Entering "ABC-" as the prefix for item "Example A" will result in the name "ABC-Example A"
Include all tags, attachment, and links should be selected if you also want to duplicate all tags, attached files and URL links associated with the item(s). If an existing item is overwritten (see description below) and this is checked, all tags, attachments and links will be updated to match exactly (any tags, attachments, or links that existed in the destination but not in the source item will be removed). If this is not selected and you overwrite an existing item, any tags, attachments and links will be cleared in the destination item.
Define how you want reuse to handle relationships between items:
Add a relationship from the original item not only reuses the source item, but also creates a relationship between the source item and the newly created one.
Do not include relationships outside of the source selection tells the system to only copy the source item. Any relationships within the source item will not be copied. For example, if the source item has a component that contains Features, Requirements and Test Cases, any relationships between those selected items will be copied when the component is reused. However, if any of the source items have relationships that are to items outside of the source component, such as a relationship between a Requirement in the source component and a Use Case in another component not reused in this action, those relationships will not be copied.

ReuseOption1

 

Include relationships from the source selection tells the system to copy over the source item, as well as any source item relationships. The new item will have relationships to the same items as the source item. For example, if the source item has a component that contains Features, Requirements and Test Cases, any relationships between those selected items will be copied when the component is reused. In addition, if any of the source items have relationships that are to items outside of the source component, such as a relationship between a Requirement in the source component and a Use Case in another component not reused in this action, a relationship between the newly created Requirement and the same Use Case will be created.

ReuseOption2

Include related items and mirror relationships tells the system to copy over the source item, any related items and create a relationship to those newly created related items. For example, if the source item has a component that contains Features, Requirements and Test Cases, any relationships between those selected items will be copied when the component is reused. In addition, if any of the source items have relationships that are to items outside of the source component, such as a relationship between a Requirement in the source component and a Use Case in another component not reused in this action, a new Use Case and its container will appear in this project, as well as a new relationship between the new Requirement and the new Use Case.

ReuseOption3

If you have more complex rules for this item type, select the Advanced button and select a reuse rule from that pane. See Advanced Reuse Options for information on adding and editing reuse rules.

Note: If a source component is synced to a destination component, and you change the hierarchy of the source component's children, those changes will not be made in the destination component.