Sync options

  Work in Jama > Work in projects > Reuse and synchronization > Synchronize items >

Sync options

Previous pageNext page Print this topic! Mail us feedback on this topic!

When synchronizing a group of items, you may want to customize the synchronization rules for that specific group. These rules will override any synchronization rules created through administration or through reuse. The top section will always display the rules for any items on the left. The bottom section will display the rules for any items on the right. The functionality is the same for each pane.

SyncOptions

The Basic view (for items without sub-items) will do the following:

All Sync fields in the Diff View will be synchronized.
The hierarchy of the source project will be reused in the destination project if required.
When synchronizing related items that do not exist in the destination project, all fields, tags, attachments and links will be reused (fields that are not applicable to the destination project will be set to defaults).

The Basic view also provides the following optional rules for synchronization:

Synchronize all direct upstream and downstream relationships – this will create relationships if they are missing and will remove relationships if they do not belong. These are synchronized by default.
Synchronize all tags, attachments, and links – this ensures that all tags, attachments and links are synchronized as well. These are synchronized by default.

SyncOptionsTop

If you wish to apply more complex rules or any reuse rules you have previously saved, select the Advanced button to display those.

SyncOptionsAdvanced

Advanced Reuse Options

The Reuse Options section displays any specific reuse rules that have previously been created. They are automatically filtered by item type, but you can deselect the Only Show Applicable option box in order to display all Reuse rules. You can also create a new Reuse rule that will be applicable to the items selected in this Diff View. See Advanced Reuse Options for more information on creating reuse rules.

 

The Advanced view will do the following:

All Sync fields in the Diff View will be synchronized (fields to be synced are specified in the Sync Options reuse rule, but sync all fields is the default).
Remove attachments, tags, links and relationships if applicable - When synchronizing related items that do not exist in the destination project, all fields, tags, attachments and links will follow the sync option that is applied to the view (fields that are not applicable to the destination project will be set to defaults).

 

The Advanced view also provides the following optional rules for synchronization:

Specific related items will be created in the destination (if they do not already exist) and relationships between the items will be created in the destination (if they do not exist).
Limit the sync fields that can be copied. Default values will be used for any field that is not copied (on an item type basis).
Limit widgets that can be copied (on an item type basis).

 

In order to save these rules for further use, select the Update Sync Options button.