Workflow

  Administration > Organization administration >

Workflow

Previous pageNext page Print this topic! Mail us feedback on this topic!

A workflow is a set of transitions from one status to another over the course of an item's lifespan. A workflow in Jama is typically used to reflect a business process.

Jama's ability to adapt to all sorts of business types, from requirements management to defect tracking to project task management means that workflow can be set up in a number of different ways and on more than just the status of an item.

Workflow must be associated to only one pick list field per item type.

workflowAdmin

Creating a workflow:

1.A user must be an administrator to create workflows.
2.Select Admin in the Jama header.
3.Select the Workflow option in the left menu.
4.Select the Add button to start a new workflow.
5.Choose an item type from the list. Keep in mind that workflows are not project-specific from the org administrator, so when a workflow is first setup it will apply to all projects for that item Type. To make a project-specific workflow, see the Project Configuration guide for workflow.
6.Choose a field for the workflow, this must be a pick list field (multi-pick lists do not work).
7.An initial "item created" transition must be specified, this will be the default status of the item type.
8.Select Save to enable the new workflow.

Note: A workflow can be disabled by deleting it from the Workflow menu.

 

Workflow settings:

Enable Workflow: Enables or disables workflow for the entire organization. Disabling workflow will still keep settings for later use.
Allow Override Workflow: Gives project managers the ability to override a workflow to make it project-specific. This is covered in Workflow Project Configuration.

 

Workflow Configuration:

Workflow for item Type: Pick the item Type that you would like to use workflow for.

Note: This will enable workflow for all projects using this item Type, it cannot be disabled within a project.

Pick list field: Choose the field to associate with workflow. This must be a pick list. Multi-select lists cannot be used for workflow.

Note: Only one pick list can be chosen per item type, you cannot create multiple workflows for a single item Type.

Item Created: The first transition will always be required, this is the "Item Created" transition at the top. This will be the default field value that the workflow will start with.

This transitions overwrites the default field if one is set.

Status transitions

The transitions outlined in the list will by default show all of the fields available with one transition to "No Transitions".

When a transition is set, this means that whatever status the user is currently on, they will have the option to switch it to the "New Status" field in the workflow window.

More than one transition

More than one option can be shown in the workflow window by adding more transitions. Select the green plus (+) button to add another transition.

Action text

By default the workflow window will just specify the name of the pick list value. By editing the action text, it can say something more specific to what is being done from a workflow perspective. For example, instead of just "Completed", the action text could be edited to say "Complete and lock this".

Notifications

It may be important to notify certain users or user groups that an item has been transition to a specific state. For each transition, there will be a Notification option, by default this is set to None. Adding this option also allows a user to comment on the transition to give details about why they are changing the status.

Note: User subscribed to the item already will receive a generic "Item updated" e-mail instead of the workflow e-mail.

Locking

After getting into a certain state, admins will likely want to lock the item out from being changed anymore, such as if the item goes into an "approved" or "complete" status.

Select the lock icon to put a system lock on when the item goes through a certain transition. This lock should be available for each transition except for "Item Created". For a transition for which the system lock is set to unlocked, the workflow will remove the system lock (if exists) when that transition is applied.

Note: This lock is a "system lock" and is slightly different from a user lock. A user lock can still be edited by the user who locked it and easily unlocked by the same user or an admin. If an item is in a system lock, no one can edit the item. Admins can still unlock the item, but it is recommended to use transitions to move an item to a state where it can edited again.

Transition permissions: An administrator may not want all users to be able to use all transitions. For instance: Analysts might be able to create and edit an item, but managers are able to approve them.

To set this type of functionality up, use the Transition Permissions column to set which users have access to certain transitions. By default, everyone who can access the items have permission to all transitions.

 

Example workflow setup:

For RedSide Consulting, project manager Frank wanted to setup a workflow for all incoming requirements. He instructed his Jama administrator Barry to setup a workflow that does the following:

Set all new requirements to "Draft"
Notify a manager when the requirement is "Completed"
Lock the requirement when it has been approved
Only allow project managers to approve requirements.

 

Barry loaded the administration panel for RedSide and went to the "Workflow" pane. In here he created a new workflow for the requirement item type using the Status pick list.

 

By default the status pick list contains "Draft, Completed, Approved and Rejected"

 

To set all new requirements immediately to Draft, Barry set the "Item Created" transition to "Draft" in the New Status column.

 

Barry sets up all of the appropriate transitions: Draft to Complete as well as Complete to Approved or Rejected.

 

Barry selects None under Notifications for the Draft to Completed transition. Barry adds the Project Manager group, which includes Frank. Now when a new requirement is completed, it will notify Frank to approve them.

 

Next, Barry sets up the permissions. Under "Draft", he selects the link that says "None" under Transition Permissions and adds in the Project Manager group for both Approved and Rejected. Now only Frank and other project managers can approve or reject requirements.

 

To lock the requirement from further editing after it has been approved, Barry selects on the lock icon next to the "Approved to Completed" transition. Now when an item has been "Completed" users will not be able to edit it.