Jama Connect User Guide

Grant permissions

Permissions allow users to do things such as access, modify, and delete items or perform other specific tasks. Permissions control how users experience Jama Connect by restricting actions they can perform or content they can see.

Note

To grant most permissions, you must be an organization administrator. A system administrator grants limited permissions and a project administrator grants only project-level permissions.

Note

You must be an organization administrator to grant most permissions. A project administrator can also grant project-level permissions.

Important

 Risk administrator permissions are managed separately.

Risk Management requires additional licensing for your organization, as well as creator, stakeholder or test runner licenses for all risk management participants. Contact your Jama Software account manager for more information.

  1. Select Admin > Organization > Permissions.

  2. In Project Selector on the left, select the organization, an individual project, or container, depending on the level you want to grant permissions. 

    Tip

    Permissions set at the organizational level are passed on to lower levels, but might be overridden for individual projects, components or sets. For simplicity, we recommend setting permissions at the highest acceptable level.

    Organization administrators can also grant project permissions in the configure project window.

  3. The main panel displays current permissions that were granted. Select Modify or Override to edit current user or group permissions. To add a new user or group, select Add permissions in the top right.

    Note

    Permissions are inherited from higher levels in the organization structure. For example, if you assign a group access at the organization level, all projects, components, and sets within the organization inherit the permissions.

    When a group or user's Inherited column contains the value "true" and is highlighted in green, that user or group has received its permissions from a higher level. Select Override to change their permissions.

    Also, certain permissions are allowed with each license type. You might need to assign the correct license type to change permissions. Also, be aware of how permissions work with related items.

  4. If you select Add permissions, the Assign user permissions window opens, and you can select the groups or users you want to add.

    Tip

    Before assigning permissions, consider setting up groups to make this task more efficient.

    You can also add a new group or user by selecting New user or New group in the top right corner of the window. Then select the role or access permissions you want to add at the bottom of the window and select Save.

    Add permissions window shows new user, new group buttons in the top right corner, with a selection list for groups, users and a display for permissions.

    Note

    Roles and access permissions can be granted at an organizational level. Project administrator permissions can be granted at a project level. Access permissions can be granted at a container level and greater. 

  5. Alternatively, select Remove at the level that access was granted to remove access to a project, component, or set completely by unselecting all permissions.

    Important

    Remove functions differently at lower levels in the hierarchy. If the user or group's permissions were previously overridden at that level, the Inherited column shows "false," and selecting Remove reverts the permissions back to the original inherited permissions. If the user or group's permissions haven't been previously overridden, the Inherited column shows "false," and selecting Remove completely removes the group or user from a project or set. If the group or user's permissions are inherited, the Inherited column reads "true" and permissions can only be removed at the higher level where they were assigned.

Note

If a user is part of multiple user groups with conflicting permissions, the user's given the highest permissions that are set. 

Important

While items within sets fall under the permission rules of the set, attachments to those items don't. Attachments can still be accessed by outside users who have access permission to the project while adding attachments or inserting rich text links.