Jama Connect User Guide

Configure Crowd authentication

Use Crowd to manage users and groups within a single system. Jama Connect can accept user details from Crowd and sync them with authentication data inside the Connect application.

  1. Log in to Crowd as an administrator.

  2. Select Applications > Add application, fill in the fields for a new application and select Next.

    crowd_add_application.png
    • Application type - Generic Application

    • Name - "jama" or any other unique name that identifies Jama Connect as the application.

      Note

      When entering the name into Jama Connect the name must match exactly. i.e. lower case "jama" for the above example.

    • Description - Helpful, but not required.

    • Password - Create a new password that Jama Connect will use to access Crowd.

    • Confirm Password - Re-enter password.

  3. Enter the URL and IP Address for Jama Connect and select Next.

    crowdsetup2.png
  4. Select the directories that will control access to Jama Connect and select Next.

    Note

    These directories must exist prior to inclusion.

    crowdsetup3.png
  5. Select the particular groups in the Crowd Directory you want to have access to Jama Connect, or choose "all users in the directory" if you want all users to have access. Select Next.

    crowdsetup4.png
  6. Review your configuration and select Save.

  7. Log in to Jama Connect as root user.

  8. Select System properties > Authentication properties and complete the following fields.

    crowdsetup5.png
    • Enable Crowd: Select this option to turn Crowd Connector on/off. When disabled, Jama Connect will look to its own database for users and passwords. 

    • Crowd location: Enter the URL for the Crowd server.

    • Crowd application name: Name of the application created in step 2 above.

    • Crowd application password: Enter the password for Jama Connect that was created in Crowd.

    • Validation interval: The amount of times a user can access the application prior to re-authenticating. The larger the number the less communication with Crowd.

    • Sync Crowd users and groups: Select this option to push Crowd Groups and Users into Jama Connect at regular intervals. Be sure you understand how users and groups in Crowd interact with Jama Connect before you do this.

      Important

      When syncing with Crowd, Jama Connect assigns licenses in the following manner:

      • If there are available named creator licenses, users are assigned a named creator license.

      • If there are no available creator licenses, users are assigned a float license.

      • If there are no available creator or float licenses, the user will be skipped and this will appear in the log.

      When Crowd is synced, Connect will first go through its list of users and add any new users and modify any existing users in the Jama Connect userbase. When that is complete, Connect will go through its list again to see if there are any existing users in the Jama Connect userbase that need to be deactivated.

      Important

      Since Connect makes two passes at adding and deactivating users, you may need to sync twice consecutively for it to work. For example, if:

      • you reach your threshold of licenses, and

      • you do not use float licenses, and

      • you are trying to both add a new user and deactivate an existing user, then

      • you will need to sync twice consecutively before the new user is given a named license.

      Important

      You may also select Manual Sync at the bottom of the window to manually synchronize all users and groups. Manual Synchronization will remove all Jama Connect configured Users and Groups and insert Crowd users and groups.

    • Sync interval - Enter the timing interval you would like for Crowd to synchronize groups and users with Jama Connect. This defaults to 30 minutes.

    • Default Organization for User - Only required when multiple organizations are setup with Jama.

  9. Select Save.

  10. Select Test Connection to test if the configuration values are valid.

Note

Users who are registered in Jama Connect, but not in Crowd, will be disabled from any use in Jama Connect. Other users will not be able to add disabled users to reviews or notifications.