Jama Connect User Guide

Understand users and groups in Crowd

If you choose to synchronize users and groups in Crowd connector, the following changes are made:

  • All groups and users in Crowd that are not in Jama Connect will be added to Jama Connect. New users will be assigned greatest licenses available. When no licenses are available, users will be created and set to Inactive.

  • All groups in Jama Connect that are not in Crowd will be removed.

  • All users that are in Jama Connect but not in Crowd will be deactivated.

  • Going forward, all user and organizational group management activities will be performed in Crowd.

  • Organization administrators will no longer create or edit users and organizational groups in Jama Connect as these are automatically created from Crowd.

However the following actions remain the same:

Action in Crowd

Result in Jama

Group(s) added to “Jama” Application in Crowd

Group created (If the name of this group already exists it will be reused.) 

User(s) added to “Jama” group in Crowd

Users(s) added (If a user already exists, attributes in Jama Connect will be overwritten by values from Crowd.)

Group attributes modified

Group attributes modified 

User attributes modified

User attributes modified

User added to group

User added to group 

User removed from group

User removed from group

Group deleted

Group deleted 

User deactivated

User deactivated 

User activated

User activated (If the user does not exist, a new user will be created. The new user will be assigned the highest available license. If no license is available, the user will be set to inactive.)