Jama Connect User Guide

Add and edit reuse rules

Important

You must be a reuse administrator to perform these tasks.

A reuse rule allows you to reuse not only specific items, but also items related to your primary selection. You can also select which fields are copied to the new item (fields not selected use default values).

  1. After selecting items for reuse, the Reuse window opens. Under Reuse options, select Advanced.

    reuse_options_advanced.png
  2. Only reuse rules that apply to the item type selected are shown. To view all reuse rules, deselect Only show applicable. As a reuse administrator, you can add, edit , or delete rules. 

    add_edit_delete_rules.png
  3. If you add or edit a rule, the Reuse window opens.

  4. To add a rule, select Add item type rule, then select an item type from the drop-down menu. 

    item_type_drop_down.png
  5. Select the green Related button to define how to handle up and downstream items related to this item type. You can add multiple rules for each item type and each rule can go 16 levels deep. Select the red minus delete button to remove any level or rule. 

  6. Select the reuse options that you want to apply to these rules:

    • Sync items and share global ID

      Select this box to give the source item and the destination item the same global ID. With the same global ID, changes to one item flag the relationship between them as out of sync.

    • Append a prefix to the names of the copied items

      If the items are only being reused but not synchronized, you can append a prefix to the new item in order to differentiate between two copies of the same items. Enter the prefix you want to use in the field.

    • Add a relationship from the original item

      Select this to create a relationship between the original item and the new item.

  7. At the bottom of the window under Fields to copy, you can configure each item type to limit the fields and widgets to be copied. Select Configure next to the item type you want to configure.

    fields_to_copy_reuse.png
  8. The fields tab allows you to define whether you want all fields copied or specific fields copied.

    Important

    Release fields can't be reused and synced between projects because they are unique to each project.

  9. The Widgets tab allows you to define whether you copy tags, attachments, and links. Once you have configured your item type, select Done to save your changes and close the window.