Jama Connect User Guide

Sync options window

If you're viewing the Sync options window when synchronizing items in the Synced items window, you see reuse options and a destination for your item. 

If you're viewing Sync options window from the Compare View, you see a top and bottom half. The top section displays rules for items in the left column of Compare View. The bottom section displays rules for items in the right column of Compare View. The functionality is the same for each pane.

Rules you create in the Sync options window override synchronization rules created through administration or reuse.

advanced_basic_sync_options_window.png

Select Basic in the top right corner to view and select these options:

  • Choose how you want to handle relationships:

    • Don't synchronize relationships

    • Include relationships from the source selection

    • Include related items and mirror relationships

  • Select the following options as needed:

    • Synchronize all tags, attachments, and links

      When synchronizing related items that don't exist in the destination project, all fields, tags, attachments, and links are reused. Fields that aren't applicable to the destination project are set to defaults.

      Note

      Only links to attachments are synchronized, not the attachments themselves.

    • Add a relationship from the original item

  • The default destination uses the specified target destination.

    Reused items are placed in the destination project based on the hierarchy of the source project. If a matching location isn't found, the system automatically creates components, sets, and folders in the destination project as needed.

Select Advanced to:

  • Display and modify existing reuse rules or add new ones.

    Reuse rules shown are filtered by item type. Deselect Only show applicable to display all reuse rules. Select Add rule to add a new rule to the items selected in this view. 

  • Select a destination.

    Select Manually select location(s) for reused item(s) to select a specific destination for your synced items. 

Select Synchronize to sync all fields specified in the reuse rules in the Sync options window. This also removes all attachments, tags, links, and relationships if selected.

When synchronizing related items that don't exist in the destination project, all fields, tags, attachments, and links follow the sync option that's applied to the view (fields that aren't applicable to the destination project are set to defaults).