Skip to main content

Jama Connect User Guide

Roles

A role is a set of permissions that allows a user to perform specific functions. Each permission type defines the functions it allows.

An admin grants permissions by role to an individual or to a group.

Note

Permission roles are different from other types of roles such as review roles and Signer roles.

Types of roles

Role

Definition

System admin 

(self-hosted only)

Handles installation, setup, and configuration of Jama Connect, and has no access to projects. System admin is a special user that isn’t a role for other users. It doesn't require a license and logs in to the system with the username "root."

Organization admin 

Controls all aspects of configuring Jama Connect, its users, and its groups.

User admin

Manages licenses, users, and groups; can see all users and organization groups in the system.

Process admin

Configures content and connections within Jama Connect; controls item types, pick lists, relationship rules, Review Center, and workflow; delegates these responsibilities to appropriate users and groups.

Project admin

Focuses on permissions, project groups, and workflow customization.

Add Project

Allows a user to create a new project or duplicate an existing project where that user is project admin.

Review admin 

Manages the advanced reuse rules accessible via the reuse dialog within a project. Reuse rules are focused on item types and are available to all users in all projects where they have a creator license.

Reuse admin 

Manages reuse. Requires read access to the synchronized items they are working with, and write permissions to edit, synchronize, reuse, or duplicate those items.

Report admin

Allows the report developer to upload and manage BIRT, Velocity, and Word templates. Reports are assigned to specific projects where the report admin has project management rights.

User admin limitations

  • Can set permissions only for groups/users on projects where they are project admin.

  • Can manage organization group membership only for groups where they are a member.

  • Can't make changes or additions to users or groups that have been assigned to organization or process admins except for activation/deactivation and license management.

  • Can manage only members of a group where they are also a member. This restriction ensures they don't unintentionally provide or remove access to unknown or existing projects.

Important

Users must have the license type that allows for the permissions granted with each role.