Jama Connect User Guide

Synchronization

Synchronization monitors for differences between reused items and containers. When differences exist, users have the option to update the data for those items or containers.

Synchronized items are only visible to users with read permissions to both items. You must have write permissions to make edits, synchronize, reuse, or duplicate items.

 If you change the hierarchy of a source component, those changes aren't synchronized in the destination component.

When you convert a synchronized item to different item type, such as converting a Requirement to a Feature Request, the item loses its synchronization and receives a new global ID.

Note

Synchronization changes don't trigger suspect links.

Running a synchronization does not remove deleted items. For example, if an item is deleted from the original component, you can't choose Sync All to delete that item from the new component.